My Faux Mercury Glass


My obsession with mercury glass is one of those things I haven’t fully disclosed to my husband.  I have been secretly stashing my collection of everything from candlesticks to glass birds in my closet, all in anticipation of the master bedroom redo that is approaching.

I also have been searching high and low for the perfect DIY Mercury Glass tutorial and I think I may have found it – thanks of course to Pinterest and the wonderful people who post their projects there!  I decided to use the tutorial from Take The Side Street and I really thing she nailed it.  That being said… I think my technique needs some work and practice because while I think my vases turned out great – the perfectionist in me thinks they can be better.

I started with some random glass vases and votive holders that I’ve had sitting around.  You’ll need a can of Krylon Looking Glass Spray Paint.  I found this item to hard to find – I went to Home Depot and Lowe’s and they didn’t have it.  Krylon’s website says that Ace Hardware carries the paint but my local stores didn’t have it either.  I ended up ordering it off of Amazon – so if this is project that you want to do this weekend – this might be the one thing you need to think about getting in advance.  You’ll also need a spray bottle with a 50/50 mixture of vinegar and water.  A big stack of paper towels and I grabbed some q-tips for the small votive holders to get the corners.

Start by washing everything with soap and water.  I wouldn’t recommend using Windex to clean the glass.  I did another medium sized vase that I had cleaned with it and I omitted the pictures because it turned out horrible.  I suspect that it was the Windex since I only used it on that one item.  Make sure that everything is completely dry before you begin.

First you should know that this spray paint is really runny – and I do mean really runny.  You don’t want any runs in the paint so you have to apply the paint in very light coats.  I did three coats on each piece letting it completely dry between each one.  You can see it drying right before your eyes – kind of fun to watch and it only takes a few minutes to dry.

After I had all the pieces painted I let them dry long enough to chat with my kids and eat an Otter Pop and then was ready to begin the distressing.  I worked one piece at a time because it is warm here right now and I was worried about the vinegar drying before I got to each of the pieces.  Using the squirt bottle with the vinegar mixture I lightly sprayed inside of the container so that it beaded up a bit.  Check your sprayer before you start.

Let the mixture sit on the paint for about 30 seconds.  I found that it was actually easier to distress the wetter it was so I got to work right away.  The tutorial showed a neatly folded paper towel being used but I actually liked the look I was getting with a paper towel that was bunched up and dampened with the vinegar mixture better.  Using the paper towel I lightly dabbed the inside of the container – slightly rubbing to “tear” away the paint on the inside.

Once I was done distressing the piece to the point that I was happy with it – I let it dry again completely and finished it with a light coat of the paint again.  It is recommended that you finish the pieces with a clear coat on the inside and I would absolutely agree.  When I was taking these pictures I nicked the inside of some of the pieces and while I’m chalking it up to additional character over time you may end up ruining the look of your piece.

I am pretty happy with the way my centerpiece vases turned out.  I think the next time I am going to go for 5+ coats of paint with maybe two rounds of distressing in between.  I think it might give the piece additional depth.  When I get around to trying this out I’ll share some pictures.  In the meantime, someone tell my husband to send me some flowers so that I have some cheap vases to work with (that is the best way to get them, right?)!

Check out some of the other projects I’d planning to try by clicking here!

Leave a Reply

