SF Zoo Layout


As a cool weather lover it pains me that the weather has been so mild this winter but on the flip side we have had some absolutely wonderful opportunities to play outside when it could be stormy.  The sunshine finally drew us to the coast and we decided to visit the San Francisco Zoo with the kids.  My husband had never been and I hadn’t been since I was a child.  If you have a chance to make it to the City – be sure to stop and play for the day.  It was so wonderful!

I wanted to accomplish a couple of things with this layout!  1) Use the Everyday Enchantment Designer Series Paper that I got for FREE during Sale-A-Bration which is still going on until March 31st, 2) use the Mini Vintage Tag embellishments that I have had for a while that I had been dying to use and 3) play with the newest font that I just downloaded: Lavenderia – special thanks to the handmade home for providing that one!

OK, I know it is a lot of links in one paragraph but there is a lot of fun stuff going on!

Just wanted to note that the brown distressed paper in the background is not part of the Everyday Enchantment paper pack. I took a ton of pictures of the animals and wanted to find a fun way to get them on the layout. Used the 1-3/4" scallop circle punch, linen thread and the map I carried in my back pocket the whole day!

A close-up on my "Lavenderia" title - this might be my new favorite font. The Z is so cool!

A quick and easy way to tie in the title and journaling notes with the background was to drag the edges of the paper across the ink pad to catch the frays in the pad on the paper for texture.

Close-up of one of the many animals we caught on our tour of the zoo. To highlight each one they were punched with the 1-3/4" Scallop Circle Punch and then anchored to the map with a piece of linen thread.

Don't forget to add those little pieces of memorabilia from your trip - gate tickets, maps, and even smooshed pennies!

These are the Mini Vintage Tags - totally fun embellishment. It's hard to see in the photo but the paper actually has a shimmer to it. They come with a smooth cream thread but I cut that off and replaced with the more rough linen thread for this project. Numbers were stamped with the Calendar Alphabet & Numbers Stamp Set.

Leave a Reply

