Aged Letterpress Gift Tags


My obsession with all things distressed and aged continues with these Christmas gift tags!  Maybe it’s the Letters to Santa Designer Series paper that keeps me moving in this vintage direction, who knows!!

My main goal with these gift tags was to figure out how to use the letterpress plates available from Stampin’ Up!  I just recently purchased the Joyful Season Letterpress Plate and was so excited when I got it that I tore it out of the package, inked it up and ran it through the Big Shot.  I was very disappointed with the way the image looked.  So it has been bugging me and I decided to READ THE DIRECTIONS that came with the plate and now I am very happy with these!

So here are my words of advice when using any of the Letterpress Plates…

1) The Whisper White or Very Vanilla Card Stocks are too smooth to get a clear, crisp image.  Try using the natural fiber papers such as the Naturals White, Confetti White or the Naturals Ivory.  Stampin’ Up! recommends using their watercolor paper.

2) Use a soft rubber brayer to ink the letterpress plate.  I tried just inking straight from the Craft Ink Pad and no matter how lightly I tried to apply the ink it kept globbing up on me.  The brayer made it go on so much more smoothly and actually made inking the plate quicker for repeat presses.

3) After you run the plate through the Big Shot you have to remove the top cutting pad that is holding down your materials.  Any aggressive movement of the pad will result in a blurred image because it will move the material too – so either use a removable adhesive such as Dotto and attach the material right to the cutting pad so they come up together or just be super careful when you pick up the cutting pad.

These gift tags were actually very easy to make so if you feel adventurous check out the supply list below and if you just want to get your hands on these you can also purchase them on the website!

Joyful Season Gift Tags

Confetti White Card Stock
Letters to Santa Designer Series Paper
Joyful Season Letterpress Plate
Big Shot
Uninked Craft Stampin’ Pad
Old Olive Craft Stampin’ Ink Refill
Crumb Cake Classic Stampin’ Pad
Stampin’ Sponges
Log Cabin Smooch Spray
Hemp Twine

Leave a Reply

